Police Department

Town Police Force

The Mount Airy Police Department has assumed responsibility for providing the Town of Mount Airy with all its comprehensive law enforcement services as of October 1, 2017. We would like to say Thank You to the Maryland State Police Resident Trooper Program for the many years of dedication they showed to this community.

The Mount Airy Police Department is currently staffed with seven sworn members. The Police Department is currently patrolling the Town of Mount Airy 20 out of 24 hours every day. During the remainder of the 24-hour period, our Allied Agencies (The Carroll County Sheriff’s Office, Frederick County Sheriff’s Office, and the Maryland State Police) are assisting with coverage of our Town.

As we grow, we will be working to provide 24 hour a day service seven days a week. The Department soon will be hiring two additional lateral officers and we currently have one recruit attending the Frederick City Police Academy. It is expected that our 24/7 operations will begin within the next several months.

The Police Station is manned by MAPD personnel Mon. – Fri. from 9AM to 5PM. After hours calls are forwarded to the Carroll County ECC to dispatch our Patrol Officers. MAPD Officers are out patrolling our streets and communities and are available for calls for service. If you call the station after hours you will reach an auto-attendant directing you to press #1 to forward your call to police dispatch. You may also dial 410-386-2680. An officer will be promptly dispatched to respond to your call for service. In the event of an emergency dial 911.

Mount Airy PD Patch with Blue Stripe