Recycling and Sanitation Commission

This is the commission that works with making our recycling service as efficient and worthwhile as possible.  This commission also handles sanitary and trash service issues, such as late pick-ups, bulk pick-up days and also bulk trash items that need addressing.

Mt. Airy Recycles

Watch the video for important tips and information on recycling:

Recycling and Sanitation Commission Members

The Sanitation and Recycling team is made up of nine members including one council member who serve for three years. The commission meets on the 3rd Wednesday of every other month at 7:00 pm in Town Hall. Everyone is encouraged to attend. Current members are listed below.

  • James Stargel – Chairman  (3/17)
  • Scott Strong – Council Liaison  (2017)
  • Pete Bowlus  (6/14)
  • Peggy Fleming  (4/15)- Secretary
  • Tom Neff  (1/15)
  • Kenneth Humbel  (9/16)
  • Tobi Drabczyk (3/17)
  • Vacancy
  • Vacancy

NOTE: Trash Pickup will be moved to July 5th, for Frederick County residents and residents of the Nottingham development due to the 4th of July Holiday.

Click on the link below to see the Yard Waste Pick-up dates for 2013-2016

Town of Mount Airy Yard Waste Dates 2013 – 2016

July 2012 R-S Minutes

June 2012 R-S Minutes

March 2012 R-S Minutes

Jan 2012 R-S Minutes

November 2012 R-S Minutes

January 2013 R-S Minutes

February 2013 R-S Minutes

May 2013 R-S Minutes

July 2013 R-S Minutes

September 2013 R-S Minutes

January 2014 R-S Minutes

March 2014 R-S Minutes

May 2014 R-S Minutes

July 2014 R-S Minutes